Cats WIN! 2015 SWCCC Mountain Bike Champions!

On Saturday, the men’s A team had a commanding XC race- taking 1,2, 4 and 5th (Kyle Trudeau, David Carlson, Ian Wilkey, and Bryan Little). David Greif easily won the men’s B race. Amy Burkel, in her first mountain bike race, took 3rd in the women’s B. Saturday’s success put the team within striking distance for the title- just like in 2014.

On Sunday, the men’s A team went 1-4 in the STXC (same order as Saturday), David repeated his victory, and Erica Clevenger came in 2nd in the women’s A. The team jumped to a 14 point lead over NAU going into the team relay. The relay was a must win for UA- the difference between first and second place? 14 points.

And win they did! The team relay (Trudeau, DC, Clevenger, and Wilkey) dominated from start to finish. It came down to the final race, but your University of Arizona Wildcats pulled off the upset and unseated NAU as the 2015 SWCCC Division 1 team omnium champions!
MTB regionals

We we’re thrilled to share the win with our long time sponsors, Dr. Keith Carlson of Claris Eye Care! Thanks for helping us reach our goals Dr. Carlson!

This week, the team- Kyle, DC, Ian, and Bryan- head out to Snowshoe, WV for nationals. Let’s bring home a jersey! BEARDOWN!